Diaper Rash Solution

When my daughter goes through her periodic bouts with teething, her urine gets so strong she develops little ulcerous sores. Of course being in an area that’s constantly shut up in a diaper, or unpleasant messes happen, it’s very difficult to treat the way I’d really like. I’d love to let her run naked and get some fresh air and sunshine on it, but it’s not summer and I don’t fancy a wet trail cleanup. I get enough of those with Aidan’s naked potty training.

So every time she goes through this I alternate between powder and salve and agonize over having to put on a diaper. During the summer, my powder works great because it wicks away the moisture that makes these sores worse. It is made of arrowroot powder and ground lavender, comfrey and calendula. My children LOVE this powder and so do I, however, it doesn’t seem to be the thing to use in the winter when part of the issue is an overly dry situation. So I go back to our Universal Salve which can heal up pretty much anything. However, again with the diaper holding in moisture, it is not the area where a salve would shine.

Every time I go through this I eventually break down and fill a small container of honey fresh from the honey kitchen to put near the changing table. Of course, it is perfect in this situation. It is a natural humectant, but effective at sealing away moisture. It is antibacterial and healing all at the same time. Inevitably, an angry looking sore goes to healthy pink within a day and after a couple days there is new skin. My clinical self thought, “hey, I should get a before and after picture” and then the reality part of my brain reasonably countered with “Child Services and embarrassing news headlines”…. so no pictures.

Honey is, in fact, the solution of choice for very bad burns and un-healable diabetic sores. I don’t know why I don’t reach for it in the first place every time…. so from now on I have a jar of raw honey in the kitchen… a jar in the medicine cabinet…. sometimes one in the shower… and ALWAYS a jar at the changing table.

About Dawn Combs @ Mockingbird Meadows

I am a stay at home mom, homesteader and practicing herbalist who owns and operates an herbal health farm. I raise bees and medicinal herbs and am passionate about teaching others how to use herbs for health in their everyday lives.
This entry was posted in Common Ailments, Kids and Herbal Healing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

