Goals for the New Year

There was a time in my life that I didn’t take the time to make “New Year’s Resolutions”…. it seemed like they were just a chance to break a few promises to myself.  I think the most common one that people make has to do with weight loss and exercise.  This is why your gym classes suddenly become packed around this time of year and also why it thins out after a few months when people go back to their old routines and give up on their resolutions.

I changed the way I approached this idea a few years ago.  That year, Carson and I were still hoping for a family (what were we thinking?!?!) and we decided to voice our intentions for the coming year.  Instead of wishes and hopes, we spoke of what we “intended” to accomplish.  We spoke it to each other and held each other accountable.  This can be very powerful, and you should never “put it out there” if you don’t really want it.  You should also put a plan in place to help you attain your goals.  Don’t just hope you will lose 25 pounds by saying it alone- you should also know how you’re going to do it.  We generally share business goals as well as personal goals, this year I will share a few of mine here with you!

1.  I will learn to cook based on Weston Price principles.  I will learn to properly homestead and my kitchen will be the nourishing heart of our home that I want it to be.  I am taking the Gnowfglins e-course to ensure my success!                                                                 – We are getting a cow TOMORROW!!  Stay tuned for cute pictures and more details in the weeks to come.  This cow will now be our source of butter, cheese, milk, ice cream, sour cream, buttermilk, kefir, yogurt and more…..

2.  I will SLOW down, even when I’m busy.  Having a weekly yoga class going on here at the farm is part of my plan here for sure, and I’m expecting some side benefits of weight loss and toning!!

3.  I will spend more time with friends and family.  I will not be responsible for an empty chair at my bookclub!  I will be more social!!

3.  I will expand our business in the following ways:                                                                         -I will get my book through editing and published by February (More on this to come, but I just finished writing yesterday!!)                                                                                                          -I will expand our Infused Honey onto at least 2 local restaurant menus and into at least 2 local bars.                                                                                                                                          -I will put our Honey Spreads into 5 additional Whole Foods locations, making it 7 locations altogether this year.                                                                                                          -We will expand our Medicinal Herbs CSA to 100 members.  We will find ground to rent to grow more crops.

What are your intentions for next year?  What do you most want for yourself?

About Dawn Combs @ Mockingbird Meadows

I am a stay at home mom, homesteader and practicing herbalist who owns and operates an herbal health farm. I raise bees and medicinal herbs and am passionate about teaching others how to use herbs for health in their everyday lives.
This entry was posted in Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

