My “family history” with Diabetes and what I’m doing about it.

Like many people my age I can look at my family and see parents, grandparents, uncles and aunts with Type II Diabetes.  This often leads to the obvious conclusion that this is a genetic inevitability…. seemingly obvious, but happily wrong!  The only thing passed down in a family regarding Type II Diabetes is the diet and lifestyle that causes it.  Deciding that this disease is inevitable and giving in to it is just a cop-out…. a rationalization that allows you to continue eating junk.

Sadly, those who wish to control their diabetes and those who wish to avoid it are doomed to failure if they follow conventional wisdom.  The American Diabetes Association (ADA) diet is a low-calorie, high-carbohydrate, low-fat, low-protein program.  While good intentioned, it is actually the perfect recipe for uncontrolled blood sugar, blood pressure and cholesterol.

I’m choosing a different path.  I was raised on a relatively healthy diet.  We didn’t have very many snack foods in the house, we raised much of our own food and desserts and pop were occasional treats.  My mother cooked at home rather than getting take-out or drive-through food.  She still does… however, at this point in her life she is taking on the family tradition of Type II Diabetes.  She has been on oral medication for a while, but it, predictably, is no longer helping to control her blood sugar.  She is pretty much at an ideal weight for her height and body type and is pretty active most of the year.  Again, the obvious conclusion is this is just not something that can be controlled, right?  Wrong!!  While she is eating by our government’s food pyramid and consuming foods that the FDA deems to be safe… I mean, there are commercials everyday telling us how safe high fructose corn sugar is, right?… her diet is not doing anything to actually help her body do its natural work of maintaining a steady blood sugar level.  I’m convinced now more than ever that Type II Diabetes is a vitamin and mineral deficiency.  The diabetic is deficient in Vitamin A, Magnesium, Chromium and several other vital nutrients.  This occurs easily while we are busy trying to “eat right” and don’t know the truth about good fats and proteins and the proper preparation of grains and carbohydrates.

Over the next 4 weeks my family and my mom and dad will be doing a diet alteration experiment.  I expect to monitor everyone’s blood pressure, cholesterol and blood sugar as we go along. I hope to have reason to make adjustments to medication as needed with their doctor’s input.

I will share what we change, why and the results here in my blog.

About Dawn Combs @ Mockingbird Meadows

I am a stay at home mom, homesteader and practicing herbalist who owns and operates an herbal health farm. I raise bees and medicinal herbs and am passionate about teaching others how to use herbs for health in their everyday lives.
This entry was posted in Common Ailments and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My “family history” with Diabetes and what I’m doing about it.

  1. Betty says:

    Dawn, Buddy now has type II diab. He has not done well on his diet. Our instructions were not very good. So If you do share this diet information, I will be grateful.
    We must control the diet so he feels better as he goes along.
    Thanks,
    Betty

    p/s Scott is the Lion in the Wizard of OZ
    At the Leaf theater in his community!

    • mmdcombs says:

      It’s not surprising you didn’t get good instructions- even good doctors don’t get much nutrition education! It’s also not surprising Buddy isn’t doing well on the diet…. it’s kinda set up for failure. That diet just makes you hungry all the time, it leads to cravings and “cheating”. Check out a book called “The Schwarzbein Principle: The Truth About Losing Weight, Being Healthy, and Feeling Younger”. She worked for a long time with diabetic patients. She has a great 4-week meal plan at the back that she has used to successfully reverse the disease. I’ll be blogging about the other things to avoid and to add and why, but that book would be a great place to start!
      I saw about Scott! That’s so cool! Wish I were close so I could come see!

Leave a Reply

